ASU Concert Series

ASU Symphony


Wednesday, September 22, 2021, 7:30 pm 

The ASU Wind Symphony, lead by Dr. Jamal Duncan in his mainstage debut as our Associate Director Bands, and the ASU Wind Ensemble open their seasons at the Madison Center for the Arts performing works by Norman Dello Joio, John Philip Sousa, and Omar Thomas. Also featured in this concert is the world premiere of Rhapsody for a Flight of Stairs, a new work by ASU Composition student Ziyu Wang, winner of the 2019 ASU Composition Competition.

Steven Bryant: In This Broad Earth  (Phil Vallejo, guest conductor)

Omar Thomas: Shenandoah 

Tielman Susato/Dunnigan: The Danserye 

Kimberly Archer: Fanfare Politeia  (Kristen Zelenak, guest conductor)

Ziyu Wang: Rhapsody for a Flight of Stairs, World Premiere

Nicole Piunno: Where Words Cannot Go 

Norman Dello Joio: Variants On A Medieval Tune

buy tickets



Saturday, September 25, 2021, 7:30 pm

The ASU Symphony Orchestra welcomes audiences back to the thrill of live, in-person music making with Stravinsky’s ecstatic Firebird Suite. In its debut at the Madison Center for the Arts, the ASUSO also presents Sound and Fury, Anna Clyne’s recent masterpiece which takes its inspiration from the works of Haydn and Shakespeare’s Macbeth. The concert begins with Brahms’ beloved “Haydn Variations.”  

Brahms: Variations on a Theme of Joseph Haydn

Anna Clyne: Sound and Fury (2019)

Stravinsky: Firebird Suite 

buy tix



Thursday, October 7, 2021, 7:30 pm

The ASU Philharmonia invites you to our first party of the 2021-22 season! The orchestra celebrates being back together in-person and sharing the joy of live music with audiences performing works by Fauré, Price, and Coleman, as well as several that will make the brass section shine by Márquez, Méndez, and Moncayo. 

Gabriel Fauré: Masques et Bergamasques, op.112, Overture

Florence Price: Symphony No. 3, Mvt 3 and 4

Arturo Márquez: Danzón No. 2

Valerie Coleman: Umoja: Anthem of Unity

Rafael Méndez: Tre-Méndez Polka

José Pablo Moncayo: Huapango

 Buy Now



Saturday, October 23, 2021, 7:30 pm

The ASU Chamber Orchestra presents two of ASU’s emerging stars: DMA composer Daniel Taborda Higuita, Winner of the 2020 ASU Composition Competition, who has written a new work for the ASUCO, as well as bassist Nathaniel De la Cruz, Winner of the 2021 ASU Concerto Competition, who will perform Frank Proto’s virtuosic Nine Variants on Paganini. The concert concludes with a world premiere performance of a newly-created edition of Beethoven’s brilliant Symphony No. 8.

Daniel Taborda Higuita: New Work (2021) (World Premiere

Frank Proto: Nine Variants on Paganini (2002), Nathaniel De La Cruz, bass           

Beethoven: Symphony No. 8 (World Premiere, Nicholas Kitchen Edition) 

buy tix


ASU WIND ENSEMBLE AND WIND SYMPHONY - Wanderlust: Let's Travel the World!

Tuesday, October 26, 7:30 pm

The ASU Wind Ensemble and Wind Symphony perform works by Alfred Reed and Percy Grainger and feature 2021 ASU Concerto Competition winners Nathan Bitter, trombone and Jared Waters, saxophone. The Wind Symphony also welcomes our first guest conductor of the season,  Dr. Armand Hall from Rochester New York’s ROCmusic Collaborative.


Brandon Scott Rumsey: Wanderlust  (Armand Hall, guest conductor)

Luis Serrano Alarcón: Tramonto  (Thomas Landschoot, cello)

Launy Grøndahl: Concerto for Trombone and Band  (Nathan Bitter, trombone & Dylan Maddix, guest conductor)

Alfred Reed: Armenian Dances Pt. 1 

Percy Grainger: Shepherd’s Hey and Irish Tune from County Derry

André Waignein: Rhapsody for Alto Saxophone and Band (Jared Waters, saxophone & Phil Vallejo, guest conductor)

Omar Thomas: Come Sunday

 buy tix



Monday, February 7

The ASU Chamber Winds perform an array of works for students in the Madison School District.



Young Person’s Concert, Thursday, March 3, 10 am and 11 am

Symphony Orchestra presents a concert aimed to engage, inspire, and educate a young audience.



Young Person’s Concert, Thursday,March 24 (AM)

The ASU Wind Symphony performs a concert for students at the Madison Center for the Arts.



Thursday, March 24 (PM)

The ASU Wind Symphony performs at the Madison Center for the Arts, featuring the music of Chad (Sir Wick) Hughes and Frank Ticheli. We also welcome our second guest conductor, Dr. Gregory Whitmore from California State University at Fullerton.

Matthew Schoendorff: Fugue State 

Frank Ticheli: Rest (Gregory Whitmore, guest conductor)

Chad Hughes: Symphonic Suite

Alton Adams: The Governor’s Own 

Erika Svanoe: Steampunk Suite